The Sacraments in Ashland

The Catholic Church teaches Seven Sacraments were instituted by Jesus Christ. A Sacrament is a tangible sign that nourishes our faith, a symbol that also does the thing it symbolises. Each Sacrament benefits both the one who receives it and the whole body of the Church. The liturgical life of the Church is bound up with our celebration of the Sacraments.

There are three Sacraments of Initiation: Baptism, Confirmation, and the Eucharist. Each of these dispenses God's grace to the Faithful, and the reception off all three constitutes fullness of incorporation into the mystical Body of Christ.

Baptism at St. Cecilia's

The Eucharist at St. Cecilia's

Confirmation at St. Cecilia's

There are also two Sacraments of Healing: Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick. Each of these are sacraments that, like Holy Communion, may be received again and again as needed, for though Christ has risen and inaugurated the Kingdom of Heaven, we still live in a time of transition, where we are beset with sin and sickness.

Reconciliation at St. Cecilia's

Anointing the Sick at St. Cecilia's

Finally, there are two Sacraments of Vocation. A Christian need not receive these to have the fullness of the Faith; instead, these are special callings from God given to individuals within the Church, partly for the benefit of those who receive them, but chiefly for the benefit of the entire Church. Through Holy Matrimony, new families and built and raised in the Faith; through Holy Orders, Jesus provides the other Sacraments and gives order to His Church.

Marriage at St. Cecilia's

Holy Orders